St. Kieran Catholic School
50 Years of Teaching God's Children

Student News

SKCS Turkey Trot Jog-A-Thon - Thursday, November 9, 2017

What is the Turkey Trot Jog-A-Thon, you ask?

Turkey TrotThe Jog-A-Thon is one of St. Kieran Catholic School’s main fundraisers where families, friends, and neighbors pledge money to support the students as they jog on campus. It takes place during your child’s regular school day. The funds raised are used to assist with school curriculum and technology. This is a fun event with music, exercise and lots of school spirit!

How do we raise money? Before the day of the Jog-A-Thon, each student obtains pledges and donations in support of his/her Jog-A-Thon efforts. Our goal is to raise at least $20,000. Your family sponsorship commitment is $150.

Can I get involved? ABSOLUTELY! There are many opportunities to help out with this event before, during and after! Please contact Samantha Yeats at or

Remember, all school parents must earn 15 of their service hours helping with one of our fundraisers.

What do I do next?

  • Please send your child to school with the names and ADDRESSES of five (5) family members, friends or neighbors they can write to seek sponsorship and 5 first-class postage stamps. We will provide the template letter, envelope, and return envelope for them to compile and mail out from school. Note: It is acceptable to send the same names and addresses with each child in the family if you choose. Students will practice their letter and envelope writing skills (ELA standards) to complete pledge letters.
  • Enclosed is your Jog-A-Thon pledge sheet. Please use one per child. Ask family, relatives, friends, co-workers, employees, etc. for support. Pledge sheets are due on Thursday, November 9, 2016.
  • Additional letters and pledge sheets can be found in the school office as needed.
  • Remind sponsors that their donations are tax deductible.

PRIZES! PRIZES! PRIZES! After the Jog-A-Thon, students will have the opportunity to earn prizes as a way to say “thank you” for their hard work in doing their best to help their school and for collecting their pledges on time. All donations must be collected and turned in to the school office by 12/11/17.

Student Council

We want to congratulate the students selected as our student council and class representatives. 

  • President - Michael Patterson
  • Vice President - Marcus Callicott
  • Secretary - Katie Dettweiler
  • Treasurer - Michal Machniak
  • School Spirit - Mikayla Horning
  • Photographers - Emily Horning & Anthony Sarmiento

Class Representatives

  • 8 - Neo Spencer & Dominic Reilly
  • 7 - Daniela Osuna & Carly Weiss
  • 6 - Drew Patterson & Nevin Steinbuch
  • 5 - Nathan Koke & Alexis Serrano
  • 4 - Rebecca Wharton & Andrew Petrich
  • 3 - Lucy Glass & Aja Antonio

Kinder, first, and second grade do not have representatives.

2017-2018 Awards

Award announcements coming soon!